Relic point Vietnam
Việt NamDIEM VILLAGE COMMUNAL
The hammock door of Diem village communal house in Hoa Long commune, Bac Ninh city, Bac Ninh province is more than 300 years old, is a unique masterpiece of wood carving art, representing the pinnacle of wood carving art. Combined with red lacquer and gilding during the Le Trung Hung period, it has just been recognized as a National Treasure. Diem communal house, also known as Viem Xa communal house, formerly belonged to Cham Khe canton, Yen Phong district, now belongs to Viem Xa village, Hoa Long commune, Bac Ninh city, Bac Ninh province. Completed in the 13th Chinh Hoa era (1692), this is one of the "first Kinh Bac" communal houses. Diem communal house currently preserves many artifacts of high artistic value, among which the hammock door of Diem communal house is a unique masterpiece of wood carving art. Accordingly, each floor is decorated with different themes, divided into separate floors and sections, but all 5 floors have a harmonious, flexible connection, bringing beauty to life, promoting human life, working and spirit. The god of democracy as well as the desire for prosperity, the desire for human proliferation in life. The top layer of the attic has a station shaped like the sun and clouds. The next part is delicately decorated with the highlight being four statues of fairies lifting the clouds and looking down. Mr. Nguyen Kim Vet, Head of Diem Communal House, said: "The beauty of Diem Communal House is the "unique" Hammock Door painting. This Hammock Door painting runs all the way from Thuong Luong at a height of 7m down to the communal house floor. consists of four large floors arranged in descending order until the main column inside. Each floor is delicately carved with many artistic shapes, symbols of the four sacred animals (dragon, lychee, tortoise, phoenix) and themes. full of art". The carved layer in the center of the hammock door is delicately carved with symmetrical images, demonstrating the skills of Kinh Bac sculptors at that time. The altar of Diem village communal house is carved very elaborately and vividly, creating a monumental but extremely delicate work of art. On one side are elephants and mahouts, on the other side are images of horses and people. In 1964, Diem communal house was recognized by the Ministry of Culture as an architectural and artistic relic and in January 2020, the hammock door of Diem village communal house was recognized as a National Treasure. Located in the ancient and solemn scenic complex of an ancient village on the banks of the Nhu Nguyet River in the land of Quan Ho's ancestors, the national architectural and artistic relic of Diem family along with valuable antiques and treasures has been converging and crystallizing the typical cultural beauty of the thousand-year-old cultural land of Bac Ninh - Kinh Bac and is one of the treasures of precious cultural and spiritual heritage of the homeland and the nation. Source: VOV electronic newspaper
Bac Ninh
4164 view
Rating : National Monument
LINH Ung Pagoda
Linh Ung Pagoda (Ngoc Kham - Gia Dong - Thuan Thanh) located on Road 282 in Pho Kham area is an important historical site in the Dau region since ancient times with the song: "The seventh day of the Kham festival/The eighth day of the Dau festival/Mong festival". Wherever you go, you always go to the Giong festival." This ancient pagoda, after hundreds of years of existence, no longer has its original architecture, but still retains its treasures, which are three stone statues and the Linh Ung restoration stele from the epigrams inscribed in the year of Hoang Dinh. 13 (1613). The large stone stele placed on the turtle's back measures 196 x 129 x 26 (cm) with double-sided writing revealing many valuable sources of information about the history of the temple. The pagoda was built during the Tran Dynasty in accordance with the legend "Besides the Buddha next to the pedestal" as follows: Statues of three Buddhas were transported from India. The boat carrying the statue went ahead along the Thien Duc River and landed at Bao Kham wharf (old name of Ngoc Kham village) on the south bank. The boat carrying the platform later landed at Long Kham wharf (Tien Du district) on the north bank. Long Kham people immediately sent a delegation to Bao Kham to demand the statue. While the two sides have yet to negotiate, the Buddha's spirit shows that wherever the statue has settled, the pagoda will be built there. So the people of Bao Kham built a pagoda where there were three stone statues, named Linh Ung Tu. At the beginning of Le Trung Hung's reign, Thai Loc Marquis Le Dinh Chat, the special adjutant of the Fatherland, General Kim Tu Vinh Loc, from Bai Thuong (Thanh Hoa), spent money on his house to buy wood to restore the pagoda, including building a bell tower and erecting a house. stone stele, repairing three treasures, corridors, burning incense, front hall, three gates, Buddha statue bowl and buying a field of 1 sao 3 meters to offer to the pagoda. Construction started on May 11, Nham Ty (1612), completed on November 19 of the same year. Joining in the meritorious service with Marquis Thai Loc Le Dinh Chat were many high-ranking mandarins such as Duke Thanh Trinh Trang (at this time not yet crowned lord), Hoa Duong Marquis Vuong Chau (from Binh Ngo neighboring Bao Kham, later promoted to the throne). The duke, when he died, was crowned king for the people to worship). The three stone statues are almost the same size, 145 cm high. Although there is a legend about the Buddha and the pedestal, in reality the statue still has a lotus-shaped stone pedestal, the middle pedestal is 112 cm high, the two pedestals on both sides are 105 cm high. The statue is in a meditating position, looking healthy. The two faces on both sides are slightly bowed, the middle face is slightly turned up. All three statues have curly hair, so people often call them hibiscus snails. In terms of clothing, all three pho wear ao dai with the chest part wide open and decorated with hyacinth strings with flowers, leaves, and tassels, making the statue feel lively when looking at the statue. The statue's pedestal is decorated with lotus flowers and motifs of dragons, clouds, chrysanthemum strings... bearing the style of the Tran dynasty to prove that the pagoda dates back to the Tran dynasty, meaning that since there was a statue, there was a pagoda. Through some other artifacts, Linh Ung Pagoda has been repaired many times. By 1952, the pagoda was completely destroyed, the stone statues had no roof, and one statue even had its head blown into the water of nearby Thuan Thanh high school. However, with the unique value of the three stone statues, in 1981 the State ranked them as historical and artistic relics. After that, local people rebuilt the pagoda and gradually perfected it into the current scenic spot. Source: Bac Ninh Online Newspaper
Bac Ninh
3907 view
Rating : National Monument
DAM Pagoda
(BNP) – Dam Pagoda is an ancient pagoda located on Dam mountain (Nam Son ward, Bac Ninh city, Bac Ninh province). The pagoda worships Buddha and Nguyen Phi Y Lan (people call her Tam, so it is also called Ba Tam pagoda). The pagoda also has many names: Dam Pagoda, Lam Son, "Canh Long Dong Khanh", "Than Quang Tu". History records and legends say that the pagoda was personally chosen by Nguyen Phi Ỷ Lan and built from the winter of 1086 to 1094, when it was completed and is considered "the largest Buddhist center of Dai Viet". This is an important project, so King Ly Nhan Tong took great care of it and when the pagoda was completed, he gave it the name "Canh Long Dong Khanh". Over a long history, the pagoda has been restored and embellished many times. During the resistance war against the French, the pagoda was demolished. After peace was restored, in 1986, local people built 3 small pagodas on the old ground to worship Buddha. Inheriting archaeological results, from 2015 to present, as well as consulting with Among experts and scientists, Bac Ninh province has carried out the master planning and construction of the "Dam Mountain cultural and ecological relic area". Dam Pagoda was restored and embellished, with a large scale, spacious and perfect decoration, along with a system of statues and worshiping objects at the pagoda of great artistic and aesthetic value, representing the artistic characteristics of each period. . Currently, Tam Bao building has an architectural structure of the letter Cong (I); including works such as: Front Street, Burning Incense and Thuong Dien. The entire structure is made of massive, strong ironwood. The front hall has 7 compartments, 2 wings and 4 curved roofs; The roof structure is "stacked with a beam for the price of a gong", because the armpit is "stacked with a beam for the price of a gong". Connecting the front hall and the upper hall are 3 incense burning spaces. The upper palace has 3 compartments, 2 wings and 4 curved roofs, with a structure similar to the Tien Duong building, with a porch system running around the main building. The new pagoda items have a massive architectural scale, built entirely of ironwood, painted, and exquisitely decorated using traditional techniques. The table door system opens all 7 compartments, 2 compartments are built with brick walls and doors in the style of "Tho". In addition, the pagoda also has the Patriarch's House and the Mother's House built on opposite sides, each with 3 compartments, 2 wings, 4 curved roofs and a load-bearing wooden frame with similar structures. Currently, the pagoda still preserves the stone pillar of Dam pagoda dating from the 11th century, which has been recognized as a national treasure with historical and aesthetic value, attracting a large number of scientific researchers to study. , learn about. In the pagoda, there are also new worship statues and worship objects created in the 21st century such as: 03 statues of Tam The, a set of statues of Dida Tam Ton, a set of Hoa Nghiem Tam Thanh statues, 01 statue of the Jade Emperor, 01 statue of Maitreya, 01 Statue of Avalokiteshvara, statue of Dharma Protector, statue of Monsignor, statue of Thanh Hien, statue of the Eight Sets of Diamonds, statue of Ten Dien Diem Kings, statue of Mrs. Nguyen Phi Ỷ Lan, statue of King Ly Nhan Tong, Hoang Phi, parallel sentences and worship objects on one's own….. The pagoda is located halfway east - south of Dam mountain, overlooking the field in front of Con Rua mountain, in the distance are Tao Khe and Thien Duc rivers. In front of the pagoda there is a ditch running from the foot of the mountain to the river bank called Con Ten stream. Like most pagodas in Vietnamese villages, Dam Pagoda is a religious construction built a long time ago to worship Buddha, Mother Goddesses, and monks. In addition, the pagoda worships Mrs. Nguyen Phi Ỷ Lan (who was instrumental in building the pagoda in the Ly Dynasty), and is also the center of Buddhist religious activities of the people. The pagoda festival takes place every year on September 8 (lunar calendar). The pagoda and all the people prepare offerings to Buddha to pray for peace, health and luck. In addition, on days such as: Buddha's Birthday, Vu Lan Festival, full moon week, first day, traditional festivals, Lunar New Year, Buddhists, monks and guests from all over come to attend the pagoda festival. Dam Pagoda was ranked as a cultural and historical relic by the Ministry of Culture and Information - Decision No. 29 -VH/QD dated January 13, 1964. Source: BAC NINH ELECTRONIC INFORMATION PORTAL
Bac Ninh
4108 view
Rating : National Monument
PEPPER Pagoda
Tieu Pagoda has the literal name (Thien Tam Tu) or also known as Tieu Son Tu, located halfway up Tieu Mountain, in Tuong Giang commune - Tu Son town - Bac Ninh province. The place preserves valuable cultural heritage of the Ly dynasty and attracts a large number of tourists from all over to visit and learn about history. According to historical records, Tieu pagoda is where Ly Cong Uan was reincarnated and was raised and educated by National Teacher Ly Van Hanh, who later became a wise king who was instrumental in founding the Ly dynasty and Dai Viet civilization. Thai To, surnamed Nguyen (Ly), from Co Phap Lo Bac Giang province; His mother was Pham Thi. On February 12, the 5th year of the Thai Binh era (974), the king was born. When he was a child, the king was intelligent, virtuous, and generous. He studied at Luc To Pagoda. Monk Van Hanh saw him with surprise and said: This is an extraordinary person who, when he grows up, will definitely be able to save the country, calm the people, and become a wise man. master of the world. Based on history books and folk legends, Tieu Pagoda can be considered to date back to the Early Le Dynasty. By the Ly dynasty, it was one of the major Buddhist centers, where the abbot of Zen Master Ly Van Hanh, who was instrumental in raising Ly Cong Uan, grew up. Tieu Pagoda has many works such as: Cam Tuyen Institute, Tien Linh Floor, Front Hall, Upper Palace, Back Hall... Besides, to the Southeast, there is Truong Lieu Pagoda. During the reign of Le Trung Hung, Tieu Pagoda was restored and expanded on a large scale in the style of a hundred-room pagoda, so it was also called "hundred-room" pagoda. During the Nguyen Dynasty, King Bao Dai's reign, the pagoda continued to be restored and recorded on the first sentence of the Three Jewels court. During the years of resistance against the US, the enemy bombed and destroyed Tieu Pagoda, leaving only a few Buddha statues and worshiping objects remaining. Truong Lieu Pagoda was also destroyed, leaving only three statues of Tam The, a statue of God and a bronze bell named "Truong Lieu Tu Chung" cast in the year Thieu reigned 3 (1843). The current architecture of Tieu Pagoda is the architecture of restorations and embellishments. The pagoda includes buildings: Tam Bao, Patriarch's house, guest house, bell tower and auxiliary works. The Three Jewels Palace is built with a wooden frame, carved with stylized floral decorations. The Patriarch's House has a roof in the style of stacking matches. At the Patriarch's house, there is an ancient statue of Zen Master Van Hanh and a throne tablet clearly stating "Ly Dynasty entered into Prime Minister Ly Van Hanh's divine position". In addition to the main works, Tieu Pagoda also has a number of auxiliary works such as guest houses, monks' houses... In particular, Tieu Pagoda also preserves 14 ancient towers of famous monks who once lived here. In addition, on the top of Tieu Mountain there is also a statue of Zen Master Ly Van Hanh about 5 meters high. Tieu Pagoda still preserves a number of valuable antiques from the Le and Nguyen dynasties, reflecting the Ly dynasties as follows: 15 beautifully carved wooden Buddha statues, 01 statue of Zen Master Ly Van Hanh, 01 stone stele with the name "Ly Gia Linh Thach" dated "Canh Thinh Nguyen Nien" (1793) records the background and merits of Ly Cong Uan, 01 bronze bell of Truong Lieu pagoda, dated Thieu Tri reign "(1843), 01 stone stele named "Cung Dien Bi Ky" dated Bao Dai 3 (1923) and many parallel sentences, poems, oracles... Visitors to the Tieu pagoda relic area (Thien Tam pagoda) are looking for vivid stories about the childhood of Ly Cong Uan, the wise king who publicly founded the Ly dynasty and the Dai Viet nation. About Tieu Pagoda is about an ancient land with many mysteries associated with the history and culture of the land of Bac Ninh - Kinh Bac and of the Vietnamese people. SOURCE ELECTRONIC INFORMATION PORTAL OF BAC NINH PROVINCE
Bac Ninh
4000 view
Rating : National Monument
TO THE TEMPLE OF KINH DUONG VUONG
Every year, every Tet holiday and spring, thousands of "Lac descendants" from all over the region come to the temple relics and tombs of Kinh Duong Vuong, Lac Long Quan, Au Co, in A Lu village. , Dai Dong Thanh commune, Thuan Thanh district, to pay tribute and worship the ancestors of the nation who openly opened the country. A Lu is an ancient village located close to the southern bank of the Duong River. Legend has it that it is the convergence land of the "Four Spirits" with 99 ponds and 99 humps, considered as the Dragon, the Ly, the Quy, and the Phuong, the only place where Tombs and temples of Kinh Duong Vuong, Lac Long Quan, and Au Co are the ancestors who were instrumental in opening the country. Kinh Duong Vuong's tomb is located on a wide open alluvial ground close to the southern bank of the Duong River and is bustling with ancient forests surrounding it. In the past, two ancient temples in the west of A Lu village worshiped Kinh Duong Vuong, Lac Long Quan, Au Co (Upper Temple worshiped Kinh Duong Vuong, Ha Temple worshiped Lac Long Quan and Au Co), with large architectural scales. large, decorated with splendid "four sacred animals and four precious" decorations. To the east of Kinh Duong Vuong's tomb, there was also a pagoda with the literal name "Dong Linh Bat Nha Tu" worshiping the "Holy Mother Ancestors" namely Vu Tien, Than Long and Au Co. The ancestor Kinh Duong Vuong is also worshiped as the Thanh Hoang of A Lu village. The ancient communal house in the east of the village was built on a large scale, consisting of 2 buildings: the 7-compartment front hall and the 5-compartment main hall, with a splendid wooden frame carved with "four scriptures and four precious rooms". . The system of divine genealogy and ordaining of communal houses and temples clearly shows that the people worshiped are Kinh Duong Vuong, Lac Long Quan and Au Co, who are known for their achievements in mountain and water. In 1949-1952, the French invaders came to A Lu village, set up posts here, and destroyed all temples and pagodas. The villagers were able to save a number of precious ancient worship objects such as: thrones, palanquins, ordinations... of temple and communal house. In 1971, the people of A Lu village restored Kinh Duong Vuong Tomb. In 2000, a communal temple worshiping ancestors was restored in the traditional style. The extremely valuable thing about the relic complex is that it still preserves a treasure trove of tangible and intangible cultural heritage such as: divine genealogy, ordination, stone stele, horizontal panels, couplets, beliefs, and festivals: At Kinh Duong Vuong's tomb, a stone stele is still preserved clearly stating "Kinh Duong Vuong's tomb", dated "Minh Menh's second decade" (1840). At the temples of Kinh Duong Vuong, Lac Long Quan and Au Co, many precious antiques are still preserved such as: thrones, tablets, genealogies, ordinations, orations, diaphragms, and parallel sentences. The system of horizontal panels and parallel sentences reflects and praises the person being worshiped such as: "Nam Bang's ancestors" (Southern country's ancestors), "Nam To Mieu" (Southern country's ancestors' temple)... Especially the 15 ordinations of The kings named the worshipers Kinh Duong Vuong, Lac Long Quan and Au Co, with the following dates: 1 Gia Long 9 (1810), 1 Minh Menh 2 (1821), 2 Thieu Tri 2 (1842), 2 Thieu Tri 6 (1846), 2 Tu Duc 3 (1850), 1 Tu Duc 33 (1880), 2 Dong Khanh 2 (1887), 1 Duy Tan 3 (1909) and 2 Khai Dinh 9 (1924). The precious cultural heritage treasure of the relic complex is also expressed in traditional beliefs and festivals. Legend has it that every year on January 18, A Lu village temple and communal house held a festival. To take care of popular matters, right from within the five villages, tasks were assigned to officials and guards. Giap, who hosts the festival, receives public fields to raise pigs and make banh chung and banh day to sacrifice to the gods. At the festival, right from the 12th day, temples and communal houses are opened to pack worship items and fan flags. On the 16th, the village organizes a procession of water from the Duong River to the temple for offerings all year round. On the 17th, the village organizes a palanquin procession from the communal house to the Upper and Lower temples to request the procession of the nation's ancestors to the communal house for offerings and festivals. From the 18th to the 24th, each day is a week of worship. Offerings include whole pigs, banh chung, and banh day. On the 25th, offerings will be made at the Upper and Lower temples with fish salad. In addition to the festival on January 18, there are also special days for the Upper Temple and the Lower Temple. Legend has it that every August 15 (lunar calendar), villagers make 3 trays of black fillings and 3 trays of fish salad to worship the Kinh Duong Vuong ancestors. Lac Long Quan and Au Co at the Thuong and Ha temples. The offerings: "black filling" symbolizes the 50 children who followed their mother to the mountains and forests to make a living. The "fish salad" trays represent the 50 children who followed their father to the sea to open up the coastal region. During the festival days, thousands of "Lost Sons of Hong" from all over the country have been attracted to the mausoleum and temple relics, to pay tribute and worship to honor Kinh Duong Vuong, Lac Long Quan, Au Co are the ancestors who were instrumental in opening the country. With the great value and significance of the relics of the mausoleums and temples of Kinh Duong Vuong, Lac Long Quan, and Au Co, the People's Committee of Bac Ninh province recently announced a plan to preserve and promote the value of the relics. with a very large scale including many project items. The relic site has become a key cultural and spiritual tourism center of our country. Source: THUAN THANH CULTURAL HERITAGE
Bac Ninh
4261 view
Rating : Updating
BUT TAP Pagoda
But Thap Pagoda, the literal name is Ninh Phuc Tu - Known as one of the most beautiful ancient pagodas in the Northern Delta, still preserved relatively intact to this day, far from the capital Hanoi. About 30km from the inner city and 3km from Dau Pagoda. The pagoda is located next to the south bank of Duong River, in But Thap village, Dinh To commune, Thuan Thanh district, Bac Ninh province. The pagoda's ruins date back to the 13th century, and it was built during the reign of King Tran Thanh Tong. Monk Huyen Quang, after passing the exam and then resigning from mandarin, returned to practice here (Book of But Thap Pagoda - Bui Van Tien, also mentioned The abbot of the pagoda during the Tran Dynasty was Zen Master Huyen Quang, the third founder of Truc Lam). Over time, the pagoda has been restored and embellished many times. But the biggest restoration was at the beginning of the 17th century, during the Le - Trinh period. At that time, the abbot of the pagoda was monk Chuyet Chuyet (From 1633-1644), and his disciple, Zen master Minh Hanh (From 1633-1659), restored the entire pagoda on a large scale, with architectural style. "Domestic work, foreign work" and has great meritorious contributions in terms of money and fields from the Queen Mother - Dieu Vien, Trinh Thi Ngoc Truc (Daughter of Thanh King Trinh Trang) and Princess Le Thi Ngoc Duyen Dharma names Dieu Tue and Princess Trinh Thi Ngoc Co (These people were also later built temples, statues were carved and placed in shrines, and worshiped at But Thap Pagoda to this day). This restoration period lasted from 1644 to In 1647, the pagoda was completed and had the literal name "Ninh Phuc Zen Tu". In the early 18th century, But Thap Pagoda was repaired on a larger scale than before. The stele "Ninh Phuc Thien Tu Bi Ky" and "Khanh Luu Bi Ky" built in the year Vinh Thinh 10 (1714) write that "the pagoda was further repaired by officials, did not hesitate to buy thousands of gold to buy only good wood, and was popular with the people. The village contributed and invited workers to build and repair, with a magnificent temple, spacious pagodas, adorned with a world of glass. Compared to before, the pagoda has a separate row of houses behind the Buddha hall, the scale is much larger. In 1876, when King Tu Duc visited here, he saw a giant tower, so it was named But Thap Pagoda from then on. The architectural complex of But Thap Pagoda stands out among the vast rice fields. The pagoda faces south, which is the direction of wisdom and prajna in Buddhist philosophy. The outermost is the three-entrance gate, followed by the 2-storey and 8-roof bell tower. The central area includes 7 rows of houses, all horizontal, running parallel, arranged on a vertical axis - Shinto Street. Inside the inner temple, located between two corridors (each row consists of 26 rooms) are 7 buildings connected from the outside in, including: Tien Duong, Thieu Huong, Thuong Dien, connecting Thuong Dien and Tich Thien Am. The stone bridge spans the lotus pond (The bridge is 4m long and has 3 curved arches. The bridge surface is paved with green stone, on both sides of the bridge there are 12 elaborate and sophisticated stone reliefs of birds, flowers and leaves). Tich Thien Am Building, as the name suggests, means containing good things. In Tich Thien Am, there is a nine-level lotus tower - a wooden tower, 9 floors, 8 sides, 9 lotus petals symbolizing the 9 levels of Buddhist practice. Then comes the Trung house, the worship hall and finally the rear hall, with a total length of more than 100m. Behind the Hau Duong house is a row of stone towers, including the 5-storey, 11m high Ton Duc stone tower, which is where the relics of Zen Master Minh Hanh, the second patriarch of the pagoda, are placed. On the left side of the pagoda is the church of the first patriarch Chuyet Chuyet and the eight-sided Bao Nghiem stone tower, 5 floors 13m high, which is the burial place of Zen master Chuyet Chuyet. On both sides of the outer end, along the front hall, are two stele houses. Each architectural work of this temple is a skillful work of art with decorative motifs made of rich and diverse materials such as stone, wood, and brick. It represents a harmonious combination of architecture and natural environment. Overall, the pagoda is arranged symmetrically and tightly in the central area, but is very naturally open in the surrounding area, so But Thap Pagoda has its own and extremely unique features. In particular, in the system of ancient statues of But Thap Pagoda, there is an ancient treasure, considered unique in Vietnam. That is the Buddha statue "Thousands of hands, thousands of eyes - thousand eyes, thousand hands". The statue is 3.7m high, 2.1m wide, has 11 heads, 46 large arms and 954 small arms of different lengths, expanding and rising like a halo of light. This is considered a masterpiece of Buddha statues and contemporary statuary art. The statue is placed on a dragon lotus throne, with a relaxed, religious posture. The special and unique thing about the pagoda that cannot be found anywhere else in our country is the tall, majestic stone stupa, rising into the blue sky, called Bao Nghiem tower, which stands out in the middle of the area. vast plain. Bao Nghiem Tower is like a giant pen, reaching straight to the deserted sky. The tower is 13.05m high, 5 floors with a top part made of green stone, 5 corners of 5 floors have 5 small bells, around the tower are decorated with vivid and unique patterns. The inside of the tower has a circle with a diameter of 2.29m. The bottom floor of this tower has 13 stone carvings, mainly images of animals. The tower demonstrates the excellent stone grafting and sculpting skills of ancient Vietnamese craftsmen. Behind is the 11m high Ton Duc tower, where the relics of Zen Master Minh Hanh, the second patriarch of the pagoda, are located. The tower was built in the mid-17th century, all four sides of the tower are covered with stone. Recently, inside the tower, people have just found 2 ancient bronze books, written/engraved with Buddhist scriptures. Several centuries have passed, but what remains at But Thap Pagoda shows that this was one of the most influential Buddhist centers in the ancient Kinh Bac region, one of the few pagodas still kept quite intact. complete architectural blocks, altar objects, and ancient statues of our country. Through many historical ups and downs, But Thap Pagoda has always been protected, preserved and embellished more and more beautifully, becoming one of the famous spiritual tourist attractions in the Bac Ninh - Kinh Bac region. Every year, people in the area and tourists from near and far always remember and return to attend the pagoda festival, held on March 24 (Lunar Calendar). But Thap Pagoda Festival takes place amid the joy and reverence of visitors from all over every time they come to the pagoda. With typical values of history, culture and art of architecture and sculpture. But Thap Pagoda has been ranked and recognized by the Ministry of Culture and Information as a national cultural relic since April 28, 1962. By 2013, the Prime Minister granted a special national relic status and the Buddha Statue "Thousand Eyes - Thousand Eyes and Thousand Hands" was recognized as a national treasure./. Source: THUAN THANH CULTURAL HERITAGE
Bac Ninh
4400 view
Rating : Special National Monument
Dau Pagoda
Dau Pagoda is one of the oldest pagodas in Vietnam, where Buddhism originated. This is one of the typical spiritual tourist destinations of Bac Ninh province, attracting many domestic and foreign tourists to make pilgrimages and learn about historical values. Dau Pagoda is also known as Ca Pagoda, Co Chau Tu, Dien Ung Tu, Phap Van Tu. Dau Pagoda is located in Thanh Khuong commune, Thuan Thanh district, and was certified as a special National Monument in 2013. This is the oldest Buddhist center in Vietnam. The pagoda is also called by people with different names such as Ca Pagoda, Co Chau Tu, Dien Ung Tu, Thien Dinh Tu. This is the temple that is considered to have the earliest history in Vietnam, although the physical traces no longer exist, it has been rebuilt. The pagoda is one of the most famous landmarks of the Northern Kinh region in the past. This is also a special national monument of Vietnam ranked 4th. Dau Pagoda is considered the oldest pagoda in Vietnam. The pagoda is located in the Dau area, during the Han Dynasty, it was called Luy Lau. In the Dau area, there are five ancient pagodas: Dau pagoda worshiping Phap Van, Dau pagoda worshiping Phap Vu, Tuong pagoda worshiping Phap Loi, Dan pagoda worshiping Phap Dien and To pagoda worshiping Man Nuong, the mother of the Four Dharmas. These five pagodas, in addition to worshiping Buddha, also worship the Four Dharmas. Dau Pagoda in Dau area was destroyed during the war, so the statue of Ba Dau was worshiped in Dau pagoda. Among the Four Dharmas, Phap Van is at the top, Thach Quang Phat (the rock in the Dung tree) is always with Phap Van and Phap Van represents all Four Dharmas, every time the court invites the statue to the capital to pray for the island, they can process it in procession. all four statues or just Phap Van. It can be said that among the Four Dharmas, Phap Van and Phap Vu are worshiped most widely, but Phap Van is the focus, so Dau Pagoda has become the center of this belief in both the Dau region and the whole country. The front house consists of 7 rooms, 2 wings, inside there are a number of tables and chairs for guests to prepare their offerings before entering to worship Buddha. The most prominent of the pagoda's buildings is the Hoa Phong tower. According to ancient bibliographies, during the Tran Dynasty, Poinsettia Mac Dinh Chi restored Dau Pagoda and built a 9-storey tower. The architecture of the tower that still exists is from the Le Trung Hung period. The tower is built of old burnt bricks, with 3 floors, 15m high. Outside the tower there is a statue of a stone sheep 1.33 m long and 0.8 m high. In the tower there are 4 statues of Thien Vuong - 4 legendary gods who govern the 4 directions of heaven. In the tower, hang a bronze bell cast in 1793 and a gong cast in 1817. Tien Duong House consists of 7 rooms and 2 wings. In front of the house are three steps running through the 5 middle spaces. In the middle space, there are two dragon-carved stone steps, bearing the artistic style of the Tran Dynasty. At the front hall, there are altars to worship Ho Dharma, Monsignor, Duc Thanh Hien, and Bat Bo Vajra. The statue of Phap Van is worshiped in the Upper Palace. This is one of four statues in the Four Dharma statue system in Dau - Luy Lau region recognized as a National Treasure. The statue of Phap Van is majestic, quiet, bronze-colored, nearly 2 meters high. The statue has a beautiful face with a large mole in the middle of the forehead, reminiscent of Indian dancers and the homeland of Tay Truc. The area connecting the front room and back hall is the place to worship the Eighteen Arhats (18 enlightened disciples of Buddha who have cultivated to the Arhat realm). In addition, statues of Bodhisattva, Tam The, Monsignor, and Saint monk are placed in the back of the hall. Source 'Bac Ninh Province Electronic Information Portal'
Bac Ninh
4133 view
Rating : Special national monument
Xuong Giang Victory Site Historical Relic Area
Xuong Giang Victory Historical Site was recognized by the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism as a National Historical Site in 2009; Xuong Giang ancient citadel is located in Dong Nham commune, Tho Xuong district, now Xuong Giang ward, Bac Giang city, Bac Giang province. Xuong Giang is the name of the ancient citadel built by the Ming army in the 15th century (1407). Through many ups and downs of history, only a few traces of Xuong Giang Ancient Citadel remain, but the location and appearance of the Ancient Citadel are still kept intact in the minds of every person of Bac Giang land. Therefore, in 2012, to commemorate the national heroes and educate the patriotic traditions of the homeland, the People's Committee of Bac Giang province approved the decision to build a new Xuong Giang Temple on the foundation of the ancient Xuong Giang Citadel. The campus is spacious and airy, shaded by green trees, and through the Tam Quan gate is a large festival ground. On the left side of the yard is the Ta Vu and the bell tower, on the right side of the yard is the Huu Vu and the drum tower. The center of the relic complex is Xuong Giang Temple with an area of 1.3 hectares. The system of horizontal and vertical parallel sentences is all written in the national language, and the signboard of Xuong Giang Temple is painted in red and gilded on a bright red background. Xuong Giang Temple today is the central location of Xuong Giang Ancient Citadel, built by the Ming Dynasty in 1407. After invading our country, the Ming Dynasty built defense stations and built ramparts in key places to defense. Xuong Giang Citadel then became a fortified stronghold of the Ming invaders, on the route from Guangxi (China) to Dong Quan (now Hanoi). The remaining traces show that Xuong Giang Citadel was located on a low hillock, covered with soil, surrounded by a small river and sunken fields. The citadel has a rectangular shape with a total area of 27 hectares. The citadel is divided into clear areas: mansions, barracks, food warehouses, ammunition warehouses... Xuong Giang Citadel is considered the center of the battle and had decisive significance in the Chi Lang - Xuong Giang Campaign when in 1427, Le Loi commanded the Lam Son insurgent army to attack the citadel, destroying the Ming army led by Lieu Thang. This was the decisive victory for our nation's independence in the 15th century, overthrowing the brutal rule of the Ming Dynasty that lasted for 2 decades, and opening a new page in the history of building and defending the country. glorious country of the nation. To commemorate the historic victory of the Lam Son insurgent army at Xuong Giang citadel, every year Bac Giang province organizes a festival on January 6 and 7, attracting a large number of visitors from all over. During the festival, there are many unique rituals and fun games. With typical value, on December 31, 2019, the Prime Minister ranked Xuong Giang Victory Site as a special national monument. This demonstrates the Party and State's concern for preserving and promoting the value of the nation's historical and cultural relics. Source: Bac Giang province electronic information portal
Bac Ninh
4007 view
Rating : Special national monument
Phat Tich Temple
Phat Tich Pagoda (also known as Van Phuc Pagoda) is located on the southern slope of Phat Tich Mountain in Phat Tich commune, Tien Du district, Bac Ninh province. According to the book "Complete History of Dai Viet" and traces and relics found in the pagoda area, Van Phuc pagoda was built between the 7th and 10th centuries. Right from the beginning, Tien Son Pagoda was the gathering place and stopping place of the first missionaries from India to our country and highly enlightened Zen masters. However, it was not until the Ly Dynasty (1010-1025) that the model of living and practicing at the pagoda became clear and large-scale because at this time the pagoda became a national temple and also the homeland of the Ly dynasty kings. In 1041, Ly Thai Tong built Tu Thi Thien Phuc Institute and cast a 7,560-kg statue of Amitabha Buddha to worship. Since then, Thien Phuc Mountain or Thien Phuc Pagoda was formed, replacing the name Tien Son Pagoda. In 1057 - 1066, King Ly Thanh Tong built Thien Phuc Pagoda and erected the highest tower in the country, inside built a Buddha statue currently 1.87m high, the entire pedestal is 2.87m, cast 2 gold statues of Brahma and De Thich for worship. in front of the temple. According to history books, in 1071, King Ly went on a trip to Phat Tich and wrote the word Buddha 1 truong 6 meters (5 meters) long, and had it carved into stone to be kept at the pagoda on Tien Du mountain. There is also a story that in 1129, under the reign of King Ly Than Tong, 84,000 terracotta stupas were inaugurated, placed in many places throughout the country, 80,000 stupas were placed in Phat Tich alone, so the mountain range in Phat Tich is named Bat Van Son. From 1073 to 1210, the dynasties of King Ly Anh Tong and Ly Cao Tong all visited Thien Phuc National Temple. During the Tran Dynasty (1228 - 1400), Thien Phuc Pagoda was still the national temple but was renamed Van Phuc. In 1279 - 1280, King Tran Nhan Tong built Bao Hoa palace. After its inauguration, the king compiled Bao Hoa's poetry collection consisting of 8 volumes to commemorate. King Tran Nghe Tong (1370) built the Lan Kha library, with himself as Director, for reading, enjoying and serving the court. In 1384, the King organized a Thai student exam (PhD) here to choose talented people to serve the country. The pagoda is also the place to record the mark of a famous Chinese Zen master - Zen master Chuyet Chuyet. From 1635 - 1644, Zen Master Chuyet Cong came to practice at Phat Tich Pagoda, and Lord Trinh Trang, King Le Huyen Tong and the servants all respected him. Lord Trinh Trang wanted more Buddhist scriptures to circulate in the country, so the Zen master sent his disciple Minh Hanh to China to request the scriptures. The scriptures were brought back, some were engraved for dissemination, the rest and the engravings were stored at Phat Tich Pagoda. During the reign of Le Trung Hung (1686), the pagoda was degraded, the Le kings restored it to its old scale, calling it Phat Tich Pagoda (literally called Van Phuc). During the Nguyen Dynasty, Phat Tich Pagoda was last renovated. From 1949 - 1952, the French occupied Phat Tich Pagoda and completely destroyed this national pagoda, leaving only the brick foundation, some Patriarch statues, and a few other Dharma objects. In 1959, Phat Tich Pagoda was built by the State. Rebuilt on a small scale to preserve the remaining relics. In 2008, construction began on a number of new projects, including a 30m high stone Buddha statue (including pedestal) on Phat Tich Mountain. The newly built Amitabha Buddha statue is based on the Buddha statue carved by King Ly Thanh Tong in 1057, and is now worshiped in the main hall. Phat Tich is not only the center of Buddhism but also preserves a treasure of legends, cultural activities - folk arts, typically the legends of Mrs. To Co, the wars between An Duong Vuong and Trieu Da , the woodcutter Vuong Chat, Tu Thuc meeting a fairy, Cao Bien building an enchanted tower, the Tea Queen, Nguyen Dang Cao flower gardener and the famous peony viewing festival at Phat Tich pagoda on the 4th of the first lunar month. With the above outstanding values, Phat Tich Pagoda was recognized by the Prime Minister as a special national historical and artistic architectural monument on December 31, 2014. Source: Department of Cultural Heritage
Bac Ninh
4941 view
Rating : Special national monument
Cluster of communal house, temple and pagoda relics in Qua Cam village
Qua Cam village communal house is located on Tuong mountain. According to ancient documents of the village, during the Le Dinh period, it had a large scale. That communal house was destroyed during the resistance war against the French colonialists. The current communal house was built right when peace was restored in the North (1954), leaning against Tuong Mountain, facing Southeast, overlooking the confluence of Cau River and Ngu Huyen Khe. . The communal house has 3 rooms, 2 front wings, 3 back rooms, linked into a building with a "nail" shaped architectural plan with a solid frame structure with strong ironwood structures, and a smooth-nosed tiled roof. Ancient, brick walls. The content of the legends and ordinations dating back to the Le and Nguyen dynasties tells us that Qua Cam communal house worships the tutelary god Saint Tam Giang. Sac is dated as early as 1710 and as late as the 9th year of Khai Dinh (1924). The communal house has a wooden altar and a tablet inscribed with "Tam Giang's epiphany", 2 great letters, 7 pairs of parallel sentences, 3 wooden incense burners from the Le and Nguyen dynasties, on top of which are ceramic and porcelain incense bowls, and antique celadon flower vases. , blue enamel of the Ly and Le and Nguyen dynasties, coffins containing colors and various types of dragon crowns, dragon robes, and dragon stele. Not only is it a religious worship facility, it also preserves many ancient documents and artifacts. During the Ly Dynasty, Qua Cam Communal House was an important point on the Nhu Nguyet River defense line during the resistance war against the Song Dynasty. Dai Viet people in the 11th century. Qua Cam Communal House was ranked as a Historical Monument by the Ministry of Culture and Information on January 9, 1990. Qua Cam village temple was built on Sang camp, located east of Tuong mountain in Mieu beach area. According to village legends and legends, the temple worships Princess Sanh, Tran Thi Ngoc, a native of Qua Cam village, concubine of King Tran Anh Tong. She had many contributions to her homeland, so when she died, she was honored by 72 hamlets as a blessing and a temple was established. Camp Sang in the Ly Dynasty was an important place on the Nhu Nguyet River defense line during the resistance war against the Song Dynasty army in 1077 under the Ly Dynasty. Over the years, the temple was restored many times. During the resistance war against the French colonialists, the temple was completely destroyed. Peace was restored and the people rebuilt on the old foundation. The temple has a "nail" shaped architectural plan, with 3 pre-worship spaces and 1 back palace space. Recently, the villagers built 3 more rooms in front. The entire building faces southwest. In the temple, there is a horizontal painting "Quang Thai Sinh", 2 pairs of parallel sentences, a statue of Princess Sanh in a meditating position, made of wood, 3 ordinations dated 1783, 1812, 1924, a 4-sided stele inscribed Write about the legend of Princess Sanh. Qua Cam Temple was ranked as a Historical Monument by the Ministry of Culture and Information on January 9, 1990. Qua Cam village pagoda called Kim Son is located on Kim Son mountain, facing Ngu Huyen Khe in the southwest direction. This is an architectural work in the style of the Nguyen Dynasty. The current construction items of Kim Son pagoda include: Tam Bao temple, Taoist temple. Tam Bao Palace has a "nail" shaped architectural plan, including 5 compartments, 2 front halls and 4 upper palace compartments. The trusses are structured in the style of a stack of beds, a gong stand, and a front and a back. Strong column system. The main column has a circumference of 1.32 meters. The outstanding decorative art is the cloud dragon image embossed on the ends and traps. The Three Jewels Palace was majorly renovated in 1998. Kim Son Pagoda, in addition to a rich system of worship statues (statues of Buddha, Bodhisattva, Saint monk,...) entirely made of wood dating back to the Nguyen Dynasty, also has a statue of Princess Sanh's mother, a statue of De Lanh mandarin. The four people of Chi Long village are beautiful wooden statues. The pagoda also preserves bells of the Nguyen Dynasty, bells of the Qing Dynasty, single vases, ceramic incense bowls and epitaphs: The pagoda festival is held on the 20th day of the first lunar month every year. Kim Son Pagoda had an important position in the resistance war against the Song dynasty of Dai Viet's army and people in the 11th century. The pagoda was ranked as a Historical Monument by the Ministry of Culture and Information on January 9, 1990. Source: People's Committee of Bac Ninh province
Bac Ninh
5163 view
Rating : National monument









