Relic point Vietnam
Việt NamHistorical revolutionary relic house number 86 - Phan Chu Trinh
The National Relic of House 86 Phan Chu Trinh (currently No. 5 Phan Chu Trinh, Ward 2, Vung Tau City) was once the home of French official Pierre Chappus located on Phan Chu Trinh Street, at the foot of Nho Mountain. The house was built in the old French architectural style of the early 20th century. During the war, this house used to be a place to hide revolutionary activists. Mr. Pierre Chappus has a French father and a Vietnamese mother. He is a private official of the French government, owner of the Vung Tau Lighthouse Department. The house of Mr. Pierre Chappus at that time was built with blue stone walls and a tiled roof, located on a plot of land about 100 meters in front of Phan Chu Trinh street and 80 meters deep. Around the house there are many fruit trees such as coconut, mango, custard apple, star apple, guava, lemon... Behind the house there is a very large lotus pond and a lychee tree the size of two people. Although Mr. Pierre Chappus is a French official, he is sympathetic to the Vietnamese revolution, and especially respects leader Nguyen Ai Quoc. While material conditions and life were extremely difficult, he supported the Viet Minh with money, rice, and 50 cows. He used his house at 86 Phan Chu Trinh as a place to hide and protect secret officers, including comrade Nguyen Hoai Duc, Vung Tau City Captain. At that time, Mr. Pierre Chappus's family always kept 5-7 dogs, each with a name. Whenever they heard a stranger coming, the dogs barked to alert the front door, and the officers immediately crept into the garden. The fruit tree exits through the back door. In the cases where acquaintances (officers) entered the gate and the dogs barked, he just had to call each dog's name and they would lie still and not bark. During the anti-American period, the house at 86 Phan Chu Trinh was agreed by Mr. Pierre Chappus for the revolution to be used as the Ba Ria - Long Khanh Provincial Party Committee Office, showing his sympathy for the Vietnamese revolution. He emotionally told the cadres: "You guys just use my house to work. In case I am captured by the enemy and die, it will be an honor for me to die for the Vietnamese revolution." In 1957, the Ba Ria - Long Khanh Provincial Party Committee Office was officially located at Mr. Pierre Chappus's house. Standing members of the Office include comrade Trinh Phong Dan and comrade Ho Si Hanh. At this time, Mr. Pierre Chappus's family kept 10 dogs, this was an important "force" that very effectively guarded the house, protecting the safety of revolutionary cadres working secretly. By the end of 1958, the Ba Ria - Long Khanh Provincial Party Committee Office had to move to another place to ensure secrecy, but the house at 86 Phan Chu Trinh was still a base for officials to come and get help, mobilize money and support. material for revolution. Mr. Pierre Chappus died in 1959 at his house at 86 Phan Chu Trinh, at the age of 81. On August 4, 1992, the house at 86 Phan Chu Trinh was recognized by the Ministry of Culture, Information, Sports and Tourism as a National Monument. Accordingly, on holidays and New Year, Doan Ket High School often organizes for students to clean and visit the house at 86 Phan Chu Trinh, and at the same time introduce them to the history of the struggle to preserve the long-standing and heroic nation of the nation. Source: Ba Ria - Vung Tau electronic newspaper
Ho Chi Minh City
5264 view
Rating : National monument
Revolutionary historical relic "Cao Cao House" No. 18 Le Loi.
The historical relic "The Cao Cao House" located at No. 18, Le Loi Street, Vung Tau City is the place where many secret meetings of the Ba Ria-Long Khanh Provincial Party Committee took place during the years of resistance against American imperialism. The tall house is 160m2 wide, and is called that because below the house are rows of 4 rows of stone columns, each 2.2m high, 40cm square side like legs supporting the house. The house is built in the style of an isolated motel, surrounded by a fence and garden. The house is divided into 2 areas: the main house and the annex. The main house consists of 2 floors, the ground floor is a row of pillars supporting the whole house. The upper floor is the main residence of the house, designed on both front and back sides with stairs up and down, built gently from the outdoors leading upstairs. Inside there is a large hall used to receive guests and small rooms used to rest. All rooms have windows facing the garden, creating a quiet space. The roof is covered with western tiles, similar to the roof of the Thai people, the roof slopes down on 4 sides, 2 gable sides have small triangles to catch the wind to prevent heat. The annex is a 2.25m wide house with a 6m horizontal roof used as a kitchen and a path leading to the main house. The "high-ranking house" was completed by Mr. Deloudet, a French civil servant and officer working in Saigon, around 1949. The house was built for him and his wife, Mrs. Chau Chon, as a vacation place in Vung Tau. . Around the "Cao Cao" area, there are many villas and resorts, facing the beach, and security is strictly controlled. In 1950, Mr. Deloudet returned to France, and the house became the property of Ms. Chau Chon. In 1951, she sold this house to agricultural engineer Nguyen Van Chien. In 1952, Mr. Ba Tra, a worker at a water factory in Ba Ria, was assigned the responsibility of taking care of the "Cao Can House". He was an enthusiastic participant in the Party's revolutionary movements; He was captured by the enemy many times, released, and was always in the enemy's sights. With a patriotic spirit, in Vung Tau, he quickly connected with the Party and continued to serve as a secret base for revolutionary cadres. Taking advantage of the enemy's negligence and lack of vigilance, during the period from 1956 to 1959, the Standing Committee of the Ba Ria-Long Khanh Provincial Party Committee turned the "High-ranking House" and surrounding villas into revolutionary bases. as a place to eat, live, travel and meet for the leaders of the revolutionary movement. Here, under the guidance of comrade Nam An Chi, the revolutionary movement among the people developed strongly and widely. In 1956 and 1957, many secret meetings took place at the "Cao Cao House". During the meeting, many of the Party's policies were implemented, promptly following the situation and promoting the development of the local revolutionary movement. In March and April 1959, it was here that the Provincial Party Standing Committee held a meeting with the Vung Tau District Party Committee to check the study of Resolution 15 of the Party Central Committee and implement the Party's Directives. Eastern inter-provincial ministry; program to mobilize the mass movement against the laws of the Ngo Dinh Diem government. Currently, the revolutionary historical relic "Cao Cang House" is located on the campus of Vung Tau City Customs Department and is managed by this unit. Much of the house's architecture remains intact. Because it only existed for a short period of time in the early period of resistance against American imperialism, the artifacts were not saved. In 1991, "The Cao Cao House" was recognized by the Ministry of Culture and Information as a revolutionary historical relic. Source: Ba Ria - Vung Tau Newspaper
Ho Chi Minh City
5007 view
Rating : National monument
Relics of the Viet Minh Committee headquarters in Vung Tau
Vung Tau City's Traditional Revolutionary House (No. 1, Ba Cu, Vung Tau City) was formerly the headquarters of the Viet Minh Committee. Having gone through periods of war, this place still preserves intact images of historical memories of the heroic struggle of Ba Ria - Vung Tau soldiers and people. Vung Tau City's Traditional Revolutionary House was built from 1908-1913 with a land area of 6,580 square meters. The house was built according to the architecture of a French colonial office, which was the military command office of the Vung Tau area from the first decade of the 18th century until the Japanese coup d'état against France. It is a massive, airy, fully furnished two-story villa, located close to the beach at Front Beach. In the villa there is also an attached staff office, where French officers often work. The leaders of the Viet Minh Committee quickly contacted the Southern Party Committee through comrade Duong Bach Mai and received instructions to prepare to seize power. Thereby, quoting the "Viet Minh Program", he wrote leaflets scattered throughout the town calling on the people of Vung Tau to rebel and prepare the armed forces to commit revolutionary violence for the uprising. During the days of the uprising, the core leaders along with the security forces and suicide soldiers of more than 40 people were on duty day and night, working at the headquarters. On August 28, 1945, at Lam Son Stadium, 300m from the headquarters of the Viet Minh Committee, under the leadership of the Viet Minh Committee of Vung Tau Town, the local people's uprising rally to win power won. Victory. During the years of arduous and fierce struggle of the resistance war against the French colonialists, the Viet Minh Committee played the role of a core leader in Vung Tau, Ba Ria and the Southeast provinces. At the end of 1945, Vung Tau-Ba Ria merged into one province, the leaders in the Viet Minh Committee and Party cells were transferred to Ba Ria, and the headquarters was also relocated. After the country was liberated, the Viet Minh Committee headquarters relics made significant contributions to the tourism of the coastal city of Vung Tau. In 1978, the monument was built with a number of additional works such as the ground floor at the back, installing air conditioners inside, building more rooms upstairs, renovating the exterior... However, no work was done. greatly affects the surrounding landscape and the main design of the house. In 1991, the headquarters of the Viet Minh Committee was recognized by the Ministry of Culture and Information as a national historical relic and renamed Vung Tau City Revolutionary Traditional House. Currently, to serve the needs of local people to learn history and visit relics, the two floors of the traditional house are used as a library, display, exhibition, and meeting place. On the upper floor is a gallery of images, historical documents, images of the city's leaders through the ages and many other artifacts... Source: Ba Ria - Vung Tau electronic newspaper
Ho Chi Minh City
6009 view
Rating : National monument
Revolutionary historical relic Tam Nhung's House
The revolutionary historical relic of Tam Nhung's house (Ho Thi Khuyen) old number 42 on 11 Tran Phu street, now number 1, Tran Xuan Do, Thang Nhi ward, Vung Tau city, Ba Ria - Vung Tau province, located below At the foot of Lon Mountain, about 100 meters west of Ben Dinh intersection, Thang Nhi ward. Previously, it was a dense, quiet garden with many fruit trees explored and built by Mr. and Mrs. Tam Nhung. In the days of the August 1945 revolution, this house was the meeting place of the Viet Minh Front Committee. During the two resistance wars, the house was a base for raising cadres operating in the inner city of the Provincial Party Committee and Vung Tau City Party Committee. ...With typical historical value and significance, in 1989, Tam Nhung's house (Ho Thi Khuyen) was recognized as a national monument by the Ministry of Culture and Information. Currently, Tam Nhung's mother's house has been restored and embellished in 2015. The monument has become a traditional educational attraction about a typical Vietnamese mother who shined the city's revolutionary heroism. Vung Tau during the two periods of resistance was simple, kind but loyal, indomitable... wholeheartedly supported and secretly kept the revolutionary cadres safe until the day the South was liberated and the country was unified. . Mother Ho Thi Khuyen was born in 1905, and people in the neighborhood often call her mother Tam Nhung (because her husband is Mr. Nguyen Van Nhung). Mr. Nhung was also a man with a patriotic spirit, hated the French colonialists and the tyrannical and tyrannical landlords, and was soon enlightened by the revolution. In 1930, he participated in seizing power in 18 Vuon Trau villages. The uprising failed and he was captured by the French colonialists. They used every trick to bribe and brutally torture him, but he never reported. His body was beaten by them until he was disabled, then he was exiled to another country. Around 1941-1942, Mr. Nguyen Van Nhung moved from Go Cong (Tien Giang) to the Nui Lon area (Vung Tau) to live, then he built family with Mrs. Ho Thi Khuyen. The couple cut down trees and reclaimed land at the foot of Big Mountain, Thang Nhi ward to build a house and plant fruit trees. The Cochinchina Uprising failed. The revolutionary movement in many Southern provinces temporarily subsided before the brutal repression of the French colonialists. In Ba Ria - Vung Tau, revolutionary bases were not broken and continued to operate, creating favorable conditions for the August 1945 revolution. Mr. and Mrs. Tam Nhung promptly secretly contacted Ban Viet Minh and soldiers in Vung Tau. Formed a core part in the campaign to seize power in 1945. Mr. and Mrs. Ho Thi Khuyen's house was the place where the Uprising Committee was established, deciding to seize power in Vung Tau. During the 9-year resistance war against the French colonialists (1945-1954), Mr. and Mrs. Ho Thi Khuyen continued to secretly participate in revolutionary activities. In 1962, faced with harsh persecution from the enemy, Ho Thi Khuyen moved back to work in Tan Dien commune, Go Cong Dong district, Tien Giang province. She participated in the Soldiers' Mother Association, directly placing spikes and mines. destroy the enemy... In 1968, the enemy pacified Tan Dien commune, Go Cong district, Tien Giang. Ma Tam was captured and detained by the enemy for 2 months. In the camp, Tam's mother was subjected to all kinds of torture, water splashing, electric shock to her toes and fingers... but she was determined not to report. In the end, without evidence, Tam's mother was released and returned to Vung Tau. During this time, the enemy urgently established more posts and strictly controlled the area. Many revolutionary bases in Vung Tau had to move deep into Sac Forest, to Dinh Mountain, Thi Vai... To lead the revolutionary movement, the Vung Tau City Party Committee decided to stick to the bases. Tam's mother was assigned the task of secretly raising secrets for revolutionary cadres. To ensure absolute safety for fellow activists, Tam's mother came up with a unique way to hide by building a secret basement in the family's house. Visiting the house and secret basement of Ho Thi Khuyen's family makes us even more proud of the patriotism, kindness, and noble heart of a heroic Vietnamese mother who sacrificed her life for her cause. liberation of the nation. Source: Ba Ria - Vung Tau Provincial Museum
Ho Chi Minh City
5226 view
Rating : National monument
Rung Sac Military Special Zone - Ho Chi Minh City
Historical relic of the Sac Can Gio Forest War Zone (formerly known as Can Gio Forest Park) with an area of 2,215.45 hectares, of which 514 hectares have been and are being exploited for tourism. Here are all the species and habitats of the most typical sub-region of the mangrove ecosystem. This place also houses many groups of monkeys with a total of more than 1,000 monkeys, living completely in natural conditions and very bold with humans. Located inside the Historical Relic of the Sac Forest War Zone in Can Gio is the Rung Sac Revolutionary Base, which is recognized as a National Historical Relic Area. This base has been known to many people in the past. heroic of the Sac Forest Special Forces. The base has been built and recreates almost all the living and fighting scenes of ancient heroes such as: Guard house, reception house, bunker, hall, logistics house, military house. medical, military house, cipher house; Scene of the commander of Group 10 listening to a report on the field situation and deciding to organize a raid to destroy the Nha Be gas depot, scene of Group 10 soldiers destroying crocodiles, how to distill salt water into fresh water, scene of the farewell Soldiers in battle, DKZ artillery shelling the Independence Palace... Rung Sac relic area (Can Gio district, Ho Chi Minh City) at that time was considered a floating base, close to Saigon - Gia Dinh to the southeast, where the Long Tau river was the "throat" of transportation. providing logistics for the giant war machine with millions of American troops and the Saigon government. On April 15, 1966, the Regional Command established the Sac forest special area with the code name T10, later changed to Group 10 with the task of guarding the seaport, guiding the people and building facilities, and grasping the enemy situation. Regiment 10 - Sac Forest Special Forces, has the task of penetrating deeply, holding on at all costs to occupy the Sac forest to continuously attack warehouses, ports, headquarters, and apparatus lairs. American war - Saigon government. To protect the Long Tau River, the US declared "weeding Rung Sac" with a "rain of bombs and storms of bullets". One of the famous ship battles was the battle of the Victoria ship in August 1966. At this time, the US sent ships Victoria carried about 100 tanks, armored vehicles; 2 helicopters, 20 tons of food... to supply an American division, preparing for the first dry season campaign of 1966-1967 Continuous fire, planes swarmed in the sky; on the ground there were dense ambushes. Rung Sac commando soldiers had to submerge themselves in the water, burying themselves in camouflage. After more than a month of preparation and planning, On the morning of August 23, when the Victoria ship passed by, two mines blew up the ship with a tonnage of more than 10 thousand tons and its weapons sank into the river bed. Nine years of fighting (1966-1975), Group 10 stubbornly stood firm on the defensive posture and took the initiative to attack, attacking deep into the harbor and enemy rear warehouses according to the orders of the Regional Command. , build local revolutionary movements, guide people in strategic hamlets to fight the enemy, build revolutionary bases in areas temporarily occupied by the enemy, develop guerrilla warfare to break the enemy's grip, and contribute Participate in the great victory of the resistance war against America and national salvation of the entire nation. With the leadership and direction of superiors, the 10th Rung Sac Special Forces Group has surpassed itself, knowing how to rely on the people to build a "people's heart posture", building a steadfast and steadfast ideology and a determined will to fight. willing to sacrifice their lives for the independence and freedom of the Fatherland, promoting revolutionary heroism to defeat enemies, the unit's tradition: "Rung Sac is the home, the port, the warehouse is the battlefield, Long Tau River is a decisive battle point - if you have an order, you will fight - in any situation, you will fight - if you fight, you will win. That tradition is like a song going into battle, following the special forces soldier into battle and making heroic achievements. On January 21, 2000, UNESCO recognized Sac forest as Can Gio World Biosphere Reserve with a unique and diverse flora and fauna typical of mangrove areas. On December 15, 2004, Sac Forest Base was decided to be ranked as a national historical relic by the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism. Visiting the Rung Sac War Zone Historical Relic today, we not only enjoy the pristine nature but also find our roots as a way to remind and review the nation's heroic history. According to the Department of Cultural Heritage
Ho Chi Minh City
7356 view
Rating : National monument
Red Areca Garden Memorial Area
Red Areca Garden is surrounded by Nhi Binh, Quoi Xuan, Thanh Loc, Tan Thoi Hiep and Dong Thanh communes. This is a place with many areca gardens and luxuriant fruit trees. In the past it was a swamp land, canals crisscrossed like spider webs, immense weeds, snakes, centipedes, mosquitoes, leeches, scorpions,... endlessly. The name Red Areca Garden was born a long time ago, no one knows its exact origin. According to veteran revolutionary comrades who once worked in this area, during the war, areca palms grew in clusters here, so they were called "Areca Garden", and the "red" color of the place name "Red Areca Garden" not only It simply means that the color of the areca trunk has discolored due to the fierce destruction of war, but also means the bloody sacrifices of generations of officers, soldiers, and people who have fallen on this land. The location of Red Areca Garden is next to and surrounded by occupied enemy military agencies. It is like a bag containing all connections from the outside, and is a base connecting the forest with the city. Losing the Red Areca Garden means losing contact with the city. Therefore, Red Areca Garden became a stepping stone between the city and the base. This place has favorable terrain in terms of visibility and maintains the element of secrecy to deploy combat formations. For us, Red Areca Garden holds an irreplaceable transit position in the northwest direction of Saigon. From an initially rudimentary "security belt", Red Areca Garden later developed into a "concave base", a revolutionary secret area, a place to stand and hide revolutionary forces. The base consists of many different "Cons" spread over a wide area, and was the starting point for resistance forces to attack Saigon in the war against the US. Since March 1945, our entire nation enthusiastically prepared for a General Uprising. Red Areca Garden became a place to gather the masses every night to practice martial arts to prepare for an uprising to seize power and expel the invaders. Not long after the success of the August Revolution, on September 23, 1945, France opened fire to attack the headquarters of revolutionary government agencies in Saigon. After 3 months, the Gia Dinh Provincial Party Committee decided to withdraw its forces to the suburbs to preserve the forces to continue fighting. On December 25, 1945, at the Red Cau Garden, comrade Pham Van Khuong - Secretary of the Gia Dinh Provincial Party Committee chaired the conference of key officials. The conference decided to choose 3 communes: An Phu Dong, Thanh Loc, Quoi Xuan to establish a resistance base with the stature of a war zone because this place is not far from the center of Saigon, although the area is small but very convenient. beneficial for the resistance, can hold on for a long time... Red Areca Garden was chosen as one of the gathering places for our officers and soldiers. Here, we have established a "Worker Reception Station" of the Southern General Trade Union to welcome technical workers from Saigon. On that basis, the War Zone Command established a military factory to produce weapons and equipment to equip the revolutionary forces. To implement the "quick fight, quick victory" strategy, the French colonialists organized many fierce raids into the Red Areca Garden, aiming to destroy the resistance headquarters of Saigon - Gia Dinh. On the full moon day of the 7th month, the year of the Dog, 1946, France sent Moroccan, Cambodian soldiers and Vietnamese traitors to surround it and suddenly attacked the Red Areca Garden. Due to the sudden attack, our forces did not have time to fight back. French soldiers brutally suppressed and killed many people, including the elderly and children. From the end of 1946, France established a dense system of blockhouses and watchtowers around and along the roads leading to the An Phu Dong war zone, organizing many raids and fierce bombardments. But our army and people still stubbornly hold on, the revolutionary forces have organized many battles against robberies, eliminated evildoers, and continued to develop the "Popular Education" movement. Thanks to the resilient will and loving support of the compatriots, the war zone still stood firm, contributing to defeating the strategy of "fighting quickly and winning quickly", causing the French colonialists to encounter many difficulties and losses. In January 1950, during the funeral procession for Tran Van On, Red Areca Garden became a transfer station for students entering the war zone. Under the US - Diem regime, Cau Do Garden was listed as a "White Area" that was free to be bombarded. They continuously organized sweeping operations to find and destroy our cadres. Go Mon District Party Committee still upholds its determination to continue fighting. Red Areca Garden was chosen to build a "concave" resistance base in Thanh Loc commune at that time. From these bases, we have built a continuous base area to house many battalion and regiment-level army units. To prepare for the general offensive and uprising during the Tet Offensive in 1968, the army forces returned to camp at Red Cau Garden. Local people provided about 2 tons of rice, more than 250 loaves of bread, and hundreds of cakes. tet... On March 10, 1968, local army forces led by comrade Sau Theo were stationed along the riverbank to ambush two companies of puppet soldiers preparing to sweep at Red Areca Garden. In this battle, our troops used B40, B41, and AK to continuously fire back, killing 26 Americans and puppets. During the period 1969 - 1973, the Nixon government advocated implementing the new strategy "Vietnamization of the war". They stepped up their raids, especially in our base areas. Our army and people stationed in Red Cau Garden fiercely resisted many of their raids, large and small. In 1971, here our soldiers destroyed the 11th parachute battalion of the Puppet. In 1973, a guerrilla squad in coordination with the Gia Dinh regiment intercepted a paratrooper squad and collected some trophies. During the Historical Ho Chi Minh campaign, Cau Do Garden was the place where units such as E115, Gia Dinh Regiment, Go Mon Soldiers... prepared to attack Saigon, liberating the South and reunifying the land. water. Although the enemy used artillery and bombers many times to sweep and fiercely attack to destroy the Red Areca Garden, the officers, soldiers and people of Thanh Loc - Thanh Xuan bravely accepted their sacrifices. arduously defend the base to the end. Source: District 12 website
Ho Chi Minh City
6024 view
Rating : City-level relics
US Embassy building
The US Embassy relics, also known as the "White House of the East", are the origin of sinister military and political plots aimed at long-term annexation of Vietnam. The relic site is a 5-storey building built Built in modern architecture, located at the corner of Mac Dinh Chi - Le Duan Street, Ben Nghe Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, on a plot of land nearly 5,000 square meters. Previously, the US embassy was located at 39 Ham Nghi Street. At around 10:00 a.m. on March 30, 1963, the US embassy on Ham Nghi Street was hit with explosives by the F21 Commando team, collapsing three floors: 1, 2, 3, so the US decided to rebuild it. Construction began on the building in 1965, most of the materials and construction machinery were transported from the US, under the control of American engineers. According to the design, the building is surrounded by 7,800 Taredo stones that can withstand mines and artillery shells. The main door is equipped with thick steel, the other doors are blocked by a special thick bulletproof layer. All doors use automatic systems, including iron doors blocking the way to the upper floors. Inside the building there are 140 rooms with 200 staff serving day and night. In addition, next to the building is also built an additional row of houses called the "Norodom" area exclusively for C.I.A. employees. When inaugurated, the building had only 3 floors. At the end of 1966, two more floors and a terrace were built to serve as a landing place for helicopters. Surrounding the building is a 3m high wall, at both ends of the wall close to Le Duan Street, 2 high blockhouses are built, guarded day and night. The Embassy was completed in September 1967 with a defense system such as a fortress with 60 guards, a bomb shelter, and a radar screen system to control the facade. Immediately after the building was completed, on September 24, 1967, thousands of students flocked to the gate of the US Embassy to fight for "America to stop bombing the North", "America to go home" and issued a notice denouncing the US for "trampling and seriously violating the right to self-determination of the Southern people". But the outstanding event that happened at the US Embassy was the battle of the City Rangers during the General Offensive and Uprising in the Spring of 1968. The target of attacking the US Embassy was added on January 24, 1968 by Ngo Thanh. Van is in charge of general affairs. Ranger Team 11 took on this important mission, including captain Ut Nho (military region reconnaissance captain) and soldiers: Bay Truyen, Tuoc, Thanh, Chuc, Tran The Ninh, Chinh, Tai, Van, Duc, Cao Hoai Vinh, Mang, Sau and 2 drivers: Tran Si Hung and Ngo Van Thuan. Another equally humiliating event for the US Embassy was the chaotic escape that occurred on April 29 and 30, 1975 by the US and its accomplices. Faced with the rapid attack of the Vietnamese army and people in the historic Ho Chi Minh campaign, over 1,000 Americans and more than 5,000 pro-American Vietnamese jostled, pushed, and kicked each other to compete for a place on the terrace of the building. building to be rescued by helicopter. This relic was granted a certificate of recognition by the Ministry of Culture on June 25, 1976. Currently, the US Embassy building has been demolished and a new consulate in Ho Chi Minh City has been built, but next to it is a memorial stele forever remembering the achievements of the special forces soldiers who died in the battle. . Source: Ho Chi Minh City Youth Union
Ho Chi Minh City
13856 view
Rating : National monument
Memorial site for President Ton Duc Thang in Ba Son area
The memorial site for President Ton Duc Thang is located on the campus of Ba Son Enterprise Union, which today is a large shipbuilding and repair workshop, located at 2 Ton Duc Thang Street, Ben Nghe Ward, District 1, City. Ho Chi Minh. This is a historical site with many meanings. The mechanical workshop at number 323, Street 12 within the factory campus is where mechanic Ton Duc Thang (later President of Vietnam - from 1969 to August 30, 1980) worked and participated in revolutionary activities. in the years 1915 - 1928. In 1861, France defeated Chi Hoa Fort and occupied Saigon. On April 28, 1863, the French government signed a decree officially establishing the Ba Son Shipyard (Arsenal) under the French Ministry of the Navy. Because of that importance, in 1884 the French government built another large dry dock to serve as a ship repair base for the French fleet in the Far East. After the Geneva Agreement was signed, the French army withdrew from Indochina. On September 12, 1956, France transferred Ba Son to the Saigon government navy. Under the old Saigon regime, Ba Son Waterworks was renamed Navy Factory, placed directly under the Ministry of National Defense. After April 1975, the Navy factory was taken over by the Revolutionary government and was renamed Ba Son Enterprise Union, under the Ministry of National Defense to this day. Ba Son Waterworks is the largest factory in Saigon, one of the places with the largest concentration of workers in Vietnam in the early years of the century. In order to train native electricians and mechanics to supply French companies and factories in Saigon, on February 20, 1906, the French government signed a decision to establish the Asian mechanical school in Saigon (Eécole des mécaniciens). Asiatiques de SaiGon - today's Cao Thang Technical School). Ba Son ship repair workshop is a workshop that uses the school's students to practice at the workshop and directly recruits students who have completed their studies at the school. The Saigon Asian Mechanical School and the mechanical workshop of Ba Son Water Factory at that time were associated with the first revolutionary activities of revolutionary Ton Duc Thang. After finishing primary school in his hometown: An Hoa village, My Hoa Hung commune, Dinh Thanh district, Long Xuyen province (now My Hoa Hung commune, Long Xuyen town, An Giang province), young man Ton Duc Thang decided to intending to go to Saigon to find a job and orient his life to the working class. Uncle Ton took the entrance exam to the Asian Mechanical School for the course 1915 - 1917. Currently, at the Ho Chi Minh City Museum, there is still an original book registering students enrolled in courses at this school from 1906 to 1966. . In August 1920, he returned from France to Saigon to work as a worker for KROFF and CIE. Influenced by the Russian October Revolution and learning a lot from the struggle experiences of French workers, Uncle Ton campaigned to establish the first Red Union in the city. The secret union developed among workers of Ba Son factory, Faci company, Cho Quan lighting house... From 1920 to 1925, the number of members increased to 300 people with Uncle Ton as president. This is the first Trade Union organization in Vietnam with the purpose of supporting and fighting to defend the rights of workers and fight against capitalist imperialism. Under the leadership of the Red Congress, the struggle movement of city workers during this period exploded strongly. Typically, the strike demanding increased wages and half-day off on payday of Ba Son Waterworks workers broke out on August 4, 1925 and lasted until August 12, 1925. The strike was successful, but in order to support the struggle movement of Chinese workers and working people by "holding back" the battleship J. Mi-S-Le under orders from the French government, it needed urgent repairs to bring went to China to suppress the revolutionary movement. The strike of Ba Son workers continued in the form of a walkout, prolonging the repair of the warship for up to 4 months. Thus, this struggle, in addition to demanding economic rights and improving working conditions, also has a political nature, especially activating the sense of international solidarity of the Vietnamese working class. The strike of Ba Son workers under the leadership of the Red Trade Union organization opened a new period of struggle for the Vietnamese working class. The period of struggle was organized, led and supported by all workers and working people. The struggle movement has gone from spontaneity to a level of self-awareness, which is a good basis for accepting Marxism-Leninism. On November 19, 1975, as President, Uncle Ton visited Ba Son factory and recorded it in the factory's souvenir book. On August 12, 1993, the Ministry of Culture issued a decision to recognize Ba Son as a historical relic. Source: Ho Chi Minh City Youth Union
Ho Chi Minh City
6366 view
Rating : National monument
Hoc Mon District Palace
Hoc Mon District Palace is located at No. 1, Ly Nam De Street, Hoc Mon Town, (next to the District People's Committee headquarters) and is the place where many outstanding fighting events have been recorded throughout the long history from 1885 to the Southern days. Complete liberation of the People of 18 Betel Garden Villages. After defeating Chi Hoa Fort, the French colonialists built a 3-storey wooden house here to use as a military post. When Tran Tu Ca took office as Governor of the Palace, he used the Station as the Palace of Binh Long district. Originally a cunning drunkard of the French colonialists, Tran Tu Ca was led by a group led by Mr. Phan Van Hon (Quan Hon) and Nguyen Van Qua (Chanh Lanh Binh) of nearly 1,000 insurgents who came to burn the District Palace, captured and head cut off in the middle of the market. That was February 8, 1885, At Dau Tet. Afterwards, Hoc Mon District Palace was rebuilt with a blue stone foundation, brick walls, and a defense system from the upper floors to the fence. The architecture is similar to the Military Fort, so the locals call it Hoc Mon Fort. Tran took over from Tran Tu Ca as Governor of Ngon district, moving to Tra District and then Tho District. This was a long period of time when the people of the Hoc Mon region suffered from many cruel and despicable scenes from the French colonialists and their oligarchic henchmen mentioned above. With the indomitable tradition of Hoc Mon people. On June 4, 1930, around 6 a.m. in front of the District Palace, hundreds of Hoc Mon people protested demanding "abolition of poll tax, reduction of license and market taxes, and granting land to poor farmers." Tra District invited the leaders into the Palace to negotiate, but they cunningly arrested them, including Mr. Le Van Uoi (Secretary of Tan Thoi Nhi Commune), who was the leader of the protest. People were undaunted and fiercely demanded that Tea District release those detained. The protest group became more and more crowded, the fighting spirit spread somewhat, causing Tra District to give in. On the one hand, they released the detained people, on the other hand, they called the officials in Saigon for help. 2 hours later, the struggle was led by two men, Blachole and Nobbot, who opened fire on the protest group, causing many casualties. But the most impressive historical event at Hoc Mon District Palace was the Southern Uprising on November 23, 1940. Hoc Mon Fort is very solid, built of green stone like a fortress, about 15 meters high, has a gun emplacement and a defense system with battlements guarded by a platoon of green soldiers. On November 22, 1940, France reinforced one more platoon to deal with the situation. On the afternoon of November 22, 1940, Mr. Do Van Coi's army broke into the town, disguised as civilians, ambushed behind the Station waiting for orders to rob the Station. Another army wing has the task of destroying bridges, cutting down trees blocking roads, and occupying offices and houses... The army wing from Phuoc Vinh An, Tan Thong, Tan An Hoi, Tan Phu Trung is led by Mr. Pham Van Sang and Dang Cong Binh commanded, started from Ben Do hamlet, attacked the house, killed 1 person, collected 4 guns, and took control of the situation here (Tan Phu Trung). Immediately this army was ordered to pull back to Hoc Mon. The Long Tuy Thuong army was commanded by Mr. Bui Van Hoat. The army of General Long Tuy Trung was commanded by Mr. Do Van Day and Le Binh Dang. At around 24:00 on the night of November 22, 1940, the sound of artillery fire had not yet been heard in Saigon. After consulting, the army commanders united to attack the enemy's post. Immediately the troops headed straight to Fort Hoc Mon, where District Chief Bui Ngoc Tho resided. Two insurgents named Nghe and Kinh volunteered to enter the front gate and sacrificed their lives. Insurgents from all directions rushed into the Fort like water bursting its banks. Faced with the power of the insurgents and the masses, the soldiers in the Station no longer had the spirit to resist and fled in disarray. The insurgents completely occupied the inside of the station, but upstairs, the enemy still stubbornly used guns to shoot sporadically, at the same time calling Saigon and Thu Dau Mot for emergency help. Because he was eager to capture the name of Tho District, comrade Do Van Day climbed up to the upper floor of the Station by clinging to the gutter. Halfway up, he was hit by bullets, the comrade fell and died later. The battle was at a standstill when enemy reinforcements arrived. Unable to hold out, the insurgents withdrew from the town, dispersed to the villages, the armed forces withdrew to Ben Do hamlet (Tan Phu Trung) and then moved to My Hanh hamlet (Duc Hoa). Although the attack on Hoc Mon Fort (later called Hoc Mon District Palace) failed, it left a deep impression in the hearts of all civilians admiring the courage of revolutionary soldiers in the fight against colonialism. steal the country. During the historic Ho Chi Minh campaign, at 7:00 a.m. on April 30, 1975, Hoc Mon town was completely liberated, the National flag fluttered above the District Palace, where District Chief Nguyen Nhu Sang and his gang sai has been running away since last night. Today, Hoc Mon District Palace is chosen as the District Museum, where many documents are displayed, illustrating the ups and downs of historical periods as well as the revolutionary fighting spirit of the army and people in Hoc Mon district over the past two years. resistance war against French colonialism and American imperialism. A monument placed in front of the Hoc Mon District Palace relic represents the indomitable sacrifice of the army and people of 18 Betel Garden Villages, recognized as a national historical and cultural relic. Source: Hoc Mon District People's Committee
Ho Chi Minh City
13961 view
Rating : National monument
WARRIORS' MEMORIAL AREA AT THREE GIONG FORCES, NATIONAL HISTORICAL MONITOR
Nga Ba Giong relic is a revolutionary historical relic located in Hamlet 5, Xuan Thoi Thuong commune, Hoc Mon district. Surrounded by three roads: Phan Van Hon, Nguyen Van Bua and Provincial Road 19. Nga Ba Giong relic site is a memorial site for historical events in two wars against foreign invaders. Recognized as a national historical site in 2002. Giong Junction (also fully known as Giong Bang Lang Junction) is located in Xuan Thoi Tay village, part of 18 old betel garden villages formed from 1698 to 1731. For a long time, Giong Junction is a place with a folk name that has entered the history of the hometown of 18 betel garden villages of Hoc Mon - Ba Diem. Legend has it that in the past, this place was a relatively high land and a place where many linden trees grew, so this place got its name from there. After the Southern Uprising (November 23, 1940) failed, the French colonialists increased their repression and fierce terror against the revolutionary movement in the Hoc Mon - Ba Diem region. They set up three shooting ranges in Hoc Mon to kill Party leaders and patriotic comrades from their hometown of Hoc Mon and surrounding areas. Giong intersection is the third shooting range to record the heinous crimes of the French enemy and his henchmen against the people of Hoc Mon. Learning from the experience of 2 previous shooting ranges (1 at the old theater in the center of Hoc Mon District, 1 next to the well behind Hoc Mon Hospital today), they executed public shootings, forcing people to come and watch for the purpose of intimidation. revolutionary spirit of Hoc Mon people. But that firing squad backfired. The Hoc Mon people witnessed with their own eyes the cruelty of the French colonialists and the noble sacrifices of the communist soldiers, so their patriotic fire flared up even more fiercely. . For this third shooting range, they did not dare to build it near the center of the District anymore, but moved it to the Giong Junction area as a desolate, sparsely populated area to avoid people's resistance. Here, they built a shooting range with a solid mound of land 12m long, 2.2m high, in front of which were planted 6 shooting posts, each 1.7m high, the shooting direction facing the field (Ba Tram Lac). In 1941, here they secretly executed many times without letting the people see, hundreds of communist soldiers and patriots were killed by them. With the extremely sacred historical significance of Giong Junction, the place that marked the barbaric crimes of the French invaders, the place that demonstrated the indomitable fighting will and noble sacrifices of our comrades and compatriots later on. the Southern Uprising (November 23, 1940); After the complete liberation of the South (April 30, 1975), Hoc Mon district quickly restored and embellished the Nga Giong Junction revolutionary historical relic site to educate traditional generations of youth. This place has become a tourist attraction and a place to organize traditional festivals during major annual holidays of Hoc Mon district and the city, especially the anniversary of Southern Uprising Day (November 23). Currently, with the consent of the city, the district is renovating and building Giong Junction into "Giong Junction Martyrs' Memorial Area". Source: Hoc Mon electronic information portal
Ho Chi Minh City
13096 view
Rating : National monument









